Tags

, , , ,

It was the 17th of June and I along with my Mum were volunteering like usual at the Coos Art Museum. There was a break in customers coming into the museum so Mum decided to take a peak at the exhibits that were upstairs. When she came down she simply said, “You must check out the art in the atrium gallery.” I was confused as the statement was vague, but my curiosity had been peaked so I complied.

What I saw forced me to stand still in awe. I lost track of time, but Mum reported that I was up there for a significantly long time. This was the day that I discovered Jesse Reno’s artistic style and fell in love with it.

1382

Lighting Reaching From the Sun to Touch the Sea

“if something is true you should feel it

without feeling there is emptiness that cant be ignored

roots from the sky to prove its all connected

you asked a scholar instead of a wiseman

same information different source, this changes everything

two halves with equal variables

rabbit and the whale meet where the lightning touches the sea

searching for whale stones”

~ Jesse Reno

I immediately purchased one of his books filled with images of the masterpieces that he had created. When I came home, I went to my Dad to discuss the possibilities of taking an art class that Jesse would be teaching the very next day. It looks some convincing, but in the end I won. The following day, I was entranced in this genre of art during the entirety of the class and for many days afterwards. IMG_2717

I came home with two pieces that I would continue to work on long after the class. This has opened up this new aspect of myself that I am now able to present through my art. Truly worth the money.